Spanish Expedition Number

HPR Banner

Published Quarterly by the Nebraska State Historical Society

Addison E. Sheldon, Editor

Subscription, $2.00 per year

All sustaining members of the Nebraska State Historical Society
receive Nebraska History and other publications
without furthr (sic) payment.

Vol. VI

January-March, 1923

No. 1


The Battle at the Forks of the Loup and the Platte August 11, 1720.--Extermination of the Spanish Army by Otoe Tribe of Indians. --A New Chapter in Nebraska History

.......... (1*)

Translation from French and Spanish Sources by Addison E. Sheldon [Massacre of the Spanish Expedition of the Missouri (August 11, 1720) by Baron Marc de Villiers (Tranlated by Addison E. Sheldon) from the Journal of The Society of Americanistes, Paris*]

.......... (3*)

Letter from Rev. M. A. Shine upon New Documents (... on the Massacre of the Spanish Expedition*)

......... (34*)

First Visit of Nebraska Indians to Paris in 1725

......... (35*)

Charlevoix Letters on the Massacre of the Spanish Caravan

......... (38*)

Illustrations on the Text

Entered as second class matter February 4. 1918, at the Post Office,
Lincoln, Nebraska, under Act August 24, 1912.

* Number, word or title that did not appear in original Contents


Founded September 25, 1878

   The Nebraska State Historical Society was founded September 25, 1878, at a public meeting held in the Commercial Hotel at Lincoln. About thirty well known citizens of the State were present. Robert W. Furnas was chosen president and Professor Samuel Aughey, secretary. Previous to this date, on August 26, 1867, the State Historical and Library Association was incorporated in order to receive from the State the gift of the block of ground, now known as Haymarket Square. The original Historical Association held no meetings. It was superseded by the present State Historical Society.

Present Governing Board

Executive Board--Officers and Elected Members President, Hamilton B. Lowry, Lincoln
1st V-President, W. E. Hardy, Lincoln
2nd V-President, Rev. M. A. Shine, Plattsmouth
Secretary, Addison E. Sheldon, Lincoln
Treasurer, Don L. Love, Lincoln
James F. Hanson, Fremont
Samuel C. Bassett, Gibbon
John F. Cordeal, McCook
Novia Z. Snell, Lincoln
Robert Harvey, Lincoln


Ex Officio Members
Charles W. Bryan, Governor of Nebraska
Samuel Avery, Chancellor of University of Nebraska
J. P. O'Furey, Hartington, President of Nebraska Press Association
Andrew M. Morrissey, Chief Justice of Supreme Court of Nebraska



Vol V, no 1  Prior pageSpacerTOCSpacerNext page  Vol VI, no 1, part 1

Return to NE History & Record of Pioneer Days

© 2000, 2001 for NEGenWeb Project by Ted & Carole Miller