Beginnings of Nebraska Literature

HPR Banner

Published Quarterly by the Nebraska State Historical Society

Addison E. Sheldon, Editor

Subscription, $2.00 per year

All sustaining members of the Nebraska state Historical Society
receive Nebraska History and other publications
without furthr (sic) payment.

Vol. VI

April-June, 1923

No. 2



Poem, Addison E. Sheldon


Orsamus Charles Dake, portrait-and sketch


Notes on the Weeping Water


Beginnings of Nebraska Literature (Editorial)


The Weeping Water--a Legend, reprinted from "Nebraska Legends and other Poems" by Orsamus Charles Dake (1871)


Indian Summer--Bows and Arrows--The Pennsylvania Germans


Historical Notes--West Point--Old Nursery Hill--Fickler's Ranch--The 1881 Roundup--Table Rock, Etc.


Entered as second class matter February 4, 1918, at the Post Office,
Lincoln, Nebraska, under Act August 24, 1912.

Printed November, 1923


Founded September 25, 1878

   The Nebraska State Historical Society was founded September 25, 1878, at a public meeting held in the Commercial Hotel at Lincoln. About thirty well known citizens of the State were present. Robert W. Furnas was chosen president and Professor Samuel Aughey, secretary. Previous to this date, on August 26, 1867, the State Historical and Library Association was incorporated in order to receive from the State the gift of the block of ground, now known as Haymarket Square. The original Historical Association held no meetings. It was superseded by the present State Historical Society.

Present Governing Board

Executive Board--Officers and Elected Members President, Hamilton B. Lowry, Lincoln
1st V-President, W. E. Hardy, Lincoln
2nd V-President, Rev. M. A. Shine, Plattsmouth
Secretary, Addison E. Sheldon, Lincoln
Treasurer, Don L. Love, Lincoln
James F. Hanson, Fremont
Samuel C. Bassett, Gibbon
John F. Cordeal, McCook
Novia Z. Snell, Lincoln
* Robert Harvey, Lincoln


Ex Officio Members
   Charles W. Bryan, Governor of Nebraska
   Samuel Avery, Chancellor of University of Nebraska
   J. S. Kroh, Ogallala, President of Nebraska Press Association
   Andrew M. Morrissey, Chief Justice of Supreme Court of Nebraska

   *Died, Nov. 1, 1923


Vol VI, no 1  Prior pageSpacerTOCSpacerNext page  Vol VI, no 2, part 1

Return to NE History & Record of Pioneer Days

© 2000, 2001 for NEGenWeb Project by Ted & Carole Miller